On Writing Emotionally Charged Scenes

13557890_10209847233081275_4118201745843132377_n

This is me currently. I’m sitting in a coffee shop in New York City and writing my second book. But I needed to stop and take a minute to discuss how much writing can take it out of you, specifically when writing an emotionally charged scene.

So I’m getting myself back into the routine of hard core writing and not just editing and yes you do have to work up to it, but also, it seems like I’m at a really emotion filled part of my book, and it is draining me like nothing else. Don’t get me wrong, I love it. But you know when you finish a good book and it’s been all the feels and you’re like what is life? It’s not that it ended badly or that you are actually tired, but you need a moment to recover. Writing an emotional scene is like that.

I write a few pages, and I have to stop for a bit to let myself process what’s happening. I hope this is a good sign–that my writing is moving. Most people say that if you feel it, your readers will feel it too, but I don’t think this is always the case. You have such a deeper attachment to the book than a reader could ever have, and, at the same time, I am so familiar with it that I have the whole thing memorized and it’s hard for it to feel fresh. This becomes a problem in editing, particularly, which is why writer’s are advised to put down a first draft for a while before editing, but I wonder to what extent it can happen while writing the first draft. I don’t have the answers here. Just a thought.

Point: I love writing moving scenes, and I hope they move you, the reader, too.

Leave a Reply

