Review of Username: Evie

IMG_9451.jpg

I don’t often read graphic novels, though I have gotten into them only recently. I am learning to love them more and more. This novel, Username: Evie, by Joe Sugg, I heard straight from the mouth of the man himself while watching his YouTube video the other day where he announces his new one that he’s publishing this fall:

It’s called Username: Regenerated, the sequel to Username: Evie.

I will be buying that ASAP, because I loved Username: Evie way more than I expected to. It took until the last bit of the book for me to really love it, though. Till then, it had only seemed good, but not to die for. However, it left me emotionally vulnerable which to me is always a sign of a good story!

In Username: Evie, Evie e.scapes (that’ll make sense in the book) to a virtual world created by her father, and it is in this world that she grows into herself. It is a coming of age graphic novel, but it is one with which we can all identify.

The idea is original, touching, and relatable. It’s also obviously British and I adore that. As for the art in this book, it is beautiful, and Joe Snugg really has a gift. I loved loved loved it.

Yes, there are some cheesy moments and some minor issues I have with it, but that’s life, isn’t it?

I gave this book a 5/5 stars on Goodreads because you don’t get much in the way of specificity on there, but in reality I probably give it a 4.5. I rarely do that. But it was simple and beautiful and effective. A plus, Joe. A plus.

Leave a Reply

