Hogwarts Houses (Yes, this is literature related)

I’m going to do a silly post because it’s been a long week and I want to.

We’re going to talk about the different Hogwarts houses, which one I’m in, how it all relates to Myers-Briggs, and why these houses are the best idea ever.

P.S. It’s definitely literature related because Hogwarts is the school from Harry Potter, some of the most famous (if not the most) Young Adult Fiction.

These are the four Hogwarts houses (geniously named with illiteration):

First, we’ve got Gryffindor, founded by Godric Gryffindor, and I rank it first because it’s my house, and I’m the one writing the article. This house is known for its bravery, big and small, though as Neville proves, no bravery is small. They (we) sport the colors gold and maroon.

To the right of that (and last in ranking), we have Slytherin, founded by Salazar Slytherin. I only rank it last because loyalty is important (my inner Hufflepuff), and these houses are rivals, as most people know. These are the cunning and ambitious, and wear green and silver.

Below that, we have Ravenclaw, founded by Rowena Ravenclaw, this house is erudite. They are so smart that they have to solve a riddle just to get into their commons room. They often love astronomy and their uniforms are a nice array of blues.

Last, and most certainly not least, we have Hufflepuff, founded by Helga Hufflepuff. These are the loyal, the kind, and they are particularly good finders. J.K. Rowling says this is the best house, for shouldn’t humanity strive for such a nature?

Like I said, I myself am a Gryffindor.

FullSizeRender (1)

While I have many qualities of the other houses, I am ultimately a Gryffindor.

While I am nowhere near Hermione in smarts, I like to compare myself to her to explain why I am in this house.

I have many studious ambitions, but like hermione says,

So that explains the houses and why I am what I am, but why does any of this matter?

As chemists say, like dissolves like, or as everyone else says, humans like similar humans. We primarily hang out with people who are like us, whether or not it’s their sense of humor, lifestyle, or goals. We have always wanted to decode and create definable factions for personalities. Myers-Briggs is the perfect example. It’s fairly accurate, though I don’t think it’s quite right for me. I’m not very good at doing those kind of tests. The point is, I’m obsessed with them. I like to know what people are and then I even sort them into a Hogwarts house.

So how can we actually apply this to life?

We can adopt the British mindset and incorporate houses into our school system. This places people around those with which they will most likely get along, and it also gives them a home–a place they belong–but it doesn’t completely segregate you from others. Hogwarts student have classes mixed with different houses, and much of their down time or extracurricular activities take place with all the houses.

It’s the perfect mix, and I don’t see why we don’t do it.

Leave a Reply

