From Writer’s Block to Writer

Growing up, I diagnosed myself with a terrible disease: permanent writer’s block.

Though I always loved reading, I simply could not write, or so I thought.

I had decided that it was just not written into my genes. It was as simple as that. Throughout my primary education, I made it a goal to avoid the English classroom as much as possible, and every time a teacher assigned us an essay, I would experience the main symptom of my disease, staring blankly at the computer for hours, immediately followed by a major breakdown. My eyes and brain felt as though they were thrown into a ring, Microsoft Word in one corner, and Rebecca Weir, innocent adolescent in the other, and in the end, I ended up with one major black eye. No, change that–two.

Then, my senior year of high school, something happened that I could not explain. I began to write a novel. In hindsight, I think it was because I was jealous of my sister’s ability, older and wiser as she was, to produce works of fiction herself.

I didn’t even finish the book, and I don’t think I even gave it a working title, but it was my first attempt to mold words into a story, aside from in my theater classes, but I’m not sure how much that counted.

Then, a little over a year ago, I started blogging. I knew that I needed to get over my fear of writing, and that expressing myself over a blog, which I saw as fun and informal–without limitations or expectations–was the only way to do it.

téléchargement

…I kept telling myself as I clicked away at the keyboard.

Then, somehow, I started a book. It didn’t get finished though. I think I only made it about twenty-thousand words in, but I still remember the concept behind it. It’s not bad, but I don’t think I’ll ever pick it up again.

So, yes, I abanded a book. Again. But then I began another one, and seven  months later, I finished the first draft.

I’m still in the process of editing it, but I’ve also been writing short stories (one of which contains the reference of the carnival hat to the left), flash fiction, and commenced two more books in the mean time.

Overall, that’s a very cursory glance of my journey, but I’d consider it a partial C.V.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask!

Leave a Reply

